“Magic Mum” stuff

I was making toast this week. The piece of bread got stuck in the toaster and I reached for a small gadget we have in the kitchen – a pair of wooden tongs (with a magnet on to hang on the boiler handily close to the toaster). These tongs were made especially for fishing bits of bread out of the toaster without electrocuting yourself and were a gift from my mum. At the time, and on every occasion since I received them, I’ve thought it’s such a ‘Mum-type’ gift. You know, the kind of thing only Mums know where to find. You get one in your Christmas stocking and say, “I’d never think of buying that for myself, in fact, I didn’t even know that they existed.” And your mum smiles knowing that she’s used her Mum-powers to make your life easier.

And then it struck me.

I’ll need to know this stuff too! How does it happen? Does the knowledge magically appear? Is there a secret club? Perhaps they put a catalogue in the Bounty pack in the labour ward. Who knows?

This entry was posted in Pregnancy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment