Baby brain

There’s a new study out that says that ‘baby brain’ doesn’t exist, except in the head of mothers-to-be.

*Reads sentence again, clarifies*

I mean, women don’t actually get more dense when pregnant, they just think they do. Here’s a link to someone who explains it better.

I find this both heartening and a little upsetting. Upsetting only that I’ve been using baby brain to write off my usual mistakes (sending emails without attachments, forgetting the date and so on..) and now I have no excuse. Though the fact that these are the sort of mistakes I make without being pregnant does obviously prove that the new study makes sense.

Heartening, obviously, because my brain’s functioning well. Hooray! I report this with glee to my mother.

“Rubbish,” she says. “I’ve known lots of intelligent women who got thicker when pregnant.”

I decide not to get into technicalities – it’s all about perception, Ma! Oh never mind. Instead I say, “but not me!” in a happy tone.

There is a pause.

“You must be one of the lucky few then.” She’s not to be shifted.

More good news follows. She tells me I shouldn’t eat too many foodstuffs with iron in as I’ll get constipated and then I’ll get piles. Don’t let anyone tell you pregnancy is full of glamour…

This entry was posted in Pregnancy and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

